ready to upgrade from OS X 10.6.8 to Mountain Lion, will I lose information stored on my system in this transition?

Back To Product

Follow this Question

1 Answer from the Community

  • Best Answer:

    You shouldn't lose any information.

    But, to make absolutely sure, and protect your data in case of power failure during installation, try the following:

    1) With Disk Utility, create a new partition and format as "Mac OS Extended "Journaled".
    2) Then use Disk Utility to RESTORE your current OS 10.6.8 partition to the new partition (this will make a clone of Snow Leopard and all your data). Test that you can actually start up from the new partition.
    3) Now start up from the partition you wish to upgrade to Mountain Lion and do so.

    After, Mountain Lion is installed, you should be able to start up from either partition: Mountain Lion or Snow Leopard.

    Alternatively, you could back up all your data to an external drive or a partition before installing Mountain Lion, but I prefer to make a clone and have both OS systems available... Some of my printers and scanners do not have drivers for Mountain Lion, so when I need to use them, I start up from Snow Leopard.

    Was this useful? Answer 1

    15 of 19 people found this useful

Related Questions