• 4.0 out of 5 stars

    Simply perfect!

    • Written by from HENDERSON

    This battery has given me a good amount of time every time I've used it. I'm already on cycle 378 and the condition is good.

    10 of 12 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    213 Cycles, now only holds less than 1/2 a charge

    • Written by from Aubrey

    213 cycles, 15 months, original capacity 4100 mAH, current capacity 1862 mAH. Enough said. Think I'll try an igeneric.

    21 of 22 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Something is wrong

    • Written by from Lawrence

    I, too, have had my Macbook just longer than a year and have a failing battery. It has run 262 cycles and the System Profiler tells me the condition is "check battery". From what I understand this means I need a new battery. This battery did not live as long as it should have and I don't appreciate having to buy a new one out of my own pocket right after the warranty expires. This is ridiculous.

    28 of 28 people found this useful

  • 2.0 out of 5 stars

    Not to Happy

    • Written by from Ewing

    I too, had my MacBook 13 months and the battery just up and died. I've has an Apple portable for 8 years now in some generation or another and the batteries STILL hold a charge - but not this one. And I have Apple Care - but it's not covered, as batteries are expendables. But 13 months?

    Disappointing.

    27 of 29 people found this useful

  • 2.0 out of 5 stars

    Serious price for serious flaws....

    • Written by from Wondelgem

    I had my macbook exactly 13 months when its battery died after exactly 142 charge cycles. Of course one month past the warranty period...what was the ad again: 80% of capacity after 300 cycles? Right! It had been going slowly downhill over the last couple of months and 2 days ago it collapsed. When fully charged it lasts 40 minutes now. This is indicative of poor quality control imho and a serious disappointment. I've had pc laptops with el cheapo batteries that lasted WAY longer than this so called quality product for which a premium price is charged. Apple has some very good products and top-notch design but the foundation for business should be quality and the experieces I've had the past 2 years indicate they're slipping in this respect.

    38 of 40 people found this useful

  • 2.0 out of 5 stars

    Not Reliable

    • Written by from Aventura

    My Macbook battery only held 70% of its original charge after 9 months of use and started failing abruptly at exactly one year. No warning, the laptop just shuts down randomly and the battery meter shows over 40% left. Definitely not an isolated incident, but good luck trying to get a free replacement....

    37 of 38 people found this useful

  • 3.0 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed as well as pleased

    • Written by from Pompano Beach

    I got my macbook aluminum around June of 2009 and the battery life has diminished greatley.When the battery was new it hold charge well but 9 months later it dont.I am a bit disappointed with apple.

    34 of 37 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Horrible battery lifetime

    • Written by from Merritt Island

    Had my macbook just over a year and the battery is quitting on me, no warning, just shuts the computer off. I've never owned a laptop who's battery went bad after 1 year, much less doesn't give you warning when its about to die. I graduate in a month, and I don't need my computer screwing up a final project. I'm contemplating just selling the macbook rather than fork out $130 for a replacement (By far the most expensive laptop battery I've seen). I'm not impressed as this was my first Mac, and will probably be my last.

    31 of 34 people found this useful

  • 4.0 out of 5 stars

    Good for a year

    • Written by from Bradenton

    I was very pleased with the battery when new. I wasn't surprised when the battery life declined over time. At the one-year mark, however, it would suddenly shut off, without saving, even though it was showing 30% or more charge. Moral of the story: plan on replacing it every so often.

    35 of 38 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Another failure after one year

    • Written by from Walnut Creek

    I purchased my MacBook in January 2009. Battery was fine until a week ago, would run several hours on charge. One day last week I noticed that, when plugged in, the charge meter read 0%. The next day I went to use it while traveling and the computer wouldn't turn on. It won't hold a charge. There had been no sign of deterioration before this. Strange how all these batteries are suddenly failing after one year.

    Battery info:
    Model Information:
    Serial Number:
    Manufacturer: DP
    Device name: bq20z951
    Pack Lot Code: 0000
    PCB Lot Code: 0000
    Firmware Version: 002a
    Hardware Revision: 0005
    Cell Revision: 0100
    Charge Information:
    Charge remaining (mAh): 37
    Fully charged: Yes
    Charging: No
    Full charge capacity (mAh): 37
    Health Information:
    Cycle count: 50
    Condition: Check Battery
    Battery Installed: Yes
    Amperage (mA): 180
    Voltage (mV): 12545

    81 of 87 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed as well

    • Written by from Chelsea

    Bought my Mac in Jan 2009, starting in Jan 2010 the computer shuts down when on battery power. My charge indicates it's at 100% and it runs for a couple minutes and then shuts off. Now just beyond the warranty period it's hard to decide, $129 for a new battery which might not solve my problem, or $249 for Applecare.

    62 of 68 people found this useful

  • 3.0 out of 5 stars

    A bit disappointed

    • Written by from BARCELONA

    Same here, everyday intense usage and after about one year computer shuts down and battery is completely down although recently charged.. New one needed!!

    25 of 27 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Agree with Disappointed

    • Written by from SAINT PAUL

    I have just had exactly the same experience described in the review posted yesterday by "Disappointed". My MacBook, also purchased in February 2009, has just experience the exact same battery problem -- failure almost exactly one year after purchase. The timing of the battery failures could be coincidental, of course, but it strikes me that this might be the leading edge of a larger pattern of failures by batteries of this type, production batch, etc. Apple?

    35 of 35 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Disappointing

    • Written by from Rome

    This is my second Macbook. My first was purchased in 2008, (no problems with that one yet, a 13" Black MacBook). I bought this one February of 2009. Today is Feb 18, 2010 and I have the message of "Replace Now" on my battery icon. I have followed Apple's recommended procedures for resetting the battery. I am a full-time student and use this computer for online classes along with normal "home" use.

    To sum it up, this computer is used heavily throughout the day, almost every day; but one year? Seriously? I'm very disappointed. Before everyone starts replying with "well mine is fine, no problems". Mine was too a week ago, then it started shutting off while still showing 30 min of charge, then this morning I noticed the display, while plugged in showed 0:00.

    I started looking for help on this site and here I am.

    Here are the particulars, in case anyone is wondering:
    Charge Information:
    Charge remaining (mAh): 408
    Fully charged: No
    Charging: Yes
    Full charge capacity (mAh): 413
    Health Information:
    Cycle count: 583
    Condition: Replace Now
    Battery Installed: Yes
    Amperage (mA): 1196
    Voltage (mV): 11976

    30 of 31 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Superb Battery Life

    • Written by

    Ya! I love the battery life that Apple created for this computer. I now enjoying more time with my computer without the worry of loosing battery life..... soon. I hope you guys in Apple could make a battery that could last for 7hrs for my 13" MacBook Pro Aluminum 6th Gen 2.4GHz.

    For many computer users, Apple pricing over its products really sets them back to purchasing this brand of computer. But I believe, like many of us do, Apple presents reasonable pricing in consideration to the quality of the product they offer. And yes! I'm now a proud and will always be a proud owner (of a MacBook Pro 13" 6th Gen).

    33 of 59 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Very convenient for traveling!!

    • Written by from East Burke

    I just came back from my vacation in Europe. I was there for 2 ½ weeks - reason why I purchased my first 13” Aluminum Macbook (which by the way it’s awesome!) - Anyway, after I purchased my Macbook, I realized that one battery will probably not be enough as the plane ride was pretty long. I decided to order another battery and let me tell you, I am glad I did! It was perfect for my trip, I got to see a couple of movies and work with pictures while in the plane and train rides of the trip. Changing the battery is a breeze, takes me about a minute to do it… very easy!

    I totally recommend it, especially if you have to travel often. About the charge life, I experienced 4 hrs, but this is watching movies and with airport on (Blue tooth off). You may be able to get 5 hrs out of these batteries if all that you are doing is word processing.

    Enjoy!

    350 of 477 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    The great Notebook & Battery

    • Written by from Songkhla

    I'm the new user of macbook from Thailand. i'm just changed to mac book aluminum 13" just a few weeks ago and i know now it's incredible notebook and battery compare with my old notebook HP tx1000. before i can using my old notebook with battery life just not over 1 hour.

    But for new macbook aluminum i can used it for 4-5 hours.

    Incredible product.

    80 of 103 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Looooooooooong lasting battery

    • Written by from Ilioupolis

    Awesome in every aspect. 5 hours with Airport, bluetooth and full screen lighting!

    93 of 158 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Amazing Battery

    • Written by from Tustin

    After getting my aluminum macbook I decided that i would need a secondary battery because often I am away from a plug all day doing work. These batteries are great let me tell you. I average 4 hours per charge with brightness and keyboard backlighting at 25% and with airport connected. With 2 of these batteries I almost never have to plug in my laptop during the day, only once I get home for the night and put my laptop away to use my MacPro

    409 of 573 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Amazing

    • Written by from New Waverly

    The battery lasts a long while.
    If it's used correctly, it will last for around 3-4 hours.

    Just open a few applications and don't brighten the screen to much.
    Connecting to the internet won't help, but it will still last enough.

    Buying it will help on long trips.

    422 of 622 people found this useful