• 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Rechargeable Battery

    • Written by from Harker Heights

    I bought the MacBook in May 2007.
    In October 2008, the Battery stoped working.
    It also cracked on the outside.
    I don`t know what kind of battery this is, but it is not worse the price.

    58 of 119 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Another consumer tragedy from Mac imperialism

    • Written by from Bar Harbor

    This is why Mac makes money from bad battery's:

    I purchased a first generation Macbook, August 2006, at a retail store.
    A year later, August 2007, it died. Four days after my warranty expired (I didn't have the cash to buy Apple Care, and getting a Mac in the first place was a monetary based on consumer reports).

    I bought a new battery then and there, another year warranty included. I am not a fool, like some reviewers are making other reviewers appear; I know how to use Li battery correctly for increased longevity.
    August 2008, it died again. Five days after it's warranty.

    Planned obsolescence...?
    Love mac capabilities, hate iCommerce.

    153 of 241 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    not a good battery!

    • Written by from diamond bar

    my battery died after a little over than a year and i had to buy a new one. The battery lasted almost 3 hours away from the charger but in the long run, I had to buy a new one faster than expected

    41 of 64 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Terrible functionality

    • Written by from Brampton

    I have had my macbook for 2 and a half years now. I have barely ever used it without the charger wire attached. I tried to use it while in school, and after a mere 20 minutes it went caput without warning. I did a battery diagnosis and figured out that after only 209 battery loads, my battery's capacity is only 6% of the original charging use.

    This is a LAPTOP. It should be portable. I hear that people can only use this for a max of 3 hours without battery. Tell me, what occasion in need of a laptop (rather than a desktop) is less than 3 hours long??? The fact that this battery is useless enough you must keep it on the adapter elimates the functionality of a laptop as a whole. And the price to buy a new one is ridiculous. This technology isn't cheap, so it should be functional and practical, at the very least.
    Very disappointing.

    35 of 63 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    battery stops working after a few years - disappointed

    • Written by from Templestowe Lwr

    I have the same problem as several other reviewers. After seeing my powerbook battery become useless after 400 recharge cycles, I run my macbook with no battery, constantly plugged in. I only use the macbook battery 3-4 times per year when i need it, the rest of the time it is stored in bubble wrap. Now about 2.5 years later, the battery is completely dead, with the red "x". Even cleaning the contacts, resetting the PRAM, charging it for hours, updating the latest OS update and battery firmware update will not resuscitate this battery.

    29 of 41 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Unfair

    • Written by

    I purchased my MacBook 2 years ago. My battery is dead for some time now and a replacement one at an authorized dealer in my country (Macedonia) costs 200 Euro (more than 250 US$). It's a rip off. Also, it's completely unfair Apple to turn a blind eye on this widespread problem, since it's their fault to include such a low quality part into their notebooks. The least they can do is replace these batteries at production cost price. I loved this company 2 years ago and now I would never recommend Mac to nobody. Finally, it's not right to censor the reviews. If I write something else instead of "low quality", I mean it and I am entitled to say it.

    82 of 106 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    A battery a year is what I fear

    • Written by from Nyssa

    Dear Apple,
    I purchased a cheap Acer laptop and a Macbook a little over a year ago. Guess which one has had zero problems and which one had the battery mysteriously quit working one day. I find that unacceptable. I will not be purchasing any more Apple products. I was about to buy my wife one but she can have this cheap Acer that gets the job done better than the apple. Apple lowered the price on your iphone, you'd better start sending out replacement batteries or your Apple name will be crapapple.

    43 of 98 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Third time is not the charm

    • Written by from Somerset

    I am very disappointed in Apple and their batteries for the Mac Book. I am now on my third battery and it looks like I am headed for my fourth.
    I getting pretty much the same as you guys. Battery last good for a few months and then all of the sudden you cannot use the laptop without having it plugged in.
    I am a Network IT person and I consider myself very good with taking care of and troubleshooting equipment. I even followed Apple's battery instructions to the T. When the first one died, I clearly blamed on myself. I again went back to the battery instructions given by Apple and found some additional information on the Apple website, but, no such luck, and no such luck, and no such luck.
    I was going to give Apple a fair shot. I saved up and spent the money for the MacBook and a year later I have nothing to show for it(if you don't count the waiting period for the new batteries and shipping the batteries back to Apple .
    Sorry, Apple I have gone back to my PCs. I have had a PC for the last five years, lugging back and forth to work, and sometimes keeping it on for hours and hours, yet I am still on the original manufacturer's battery. Plus now PCs come in colors now and the netbooks some of the manufacturers have put are just the bomb. I wanted to like you, I really did. That's why as soon as I got my bonus check I rushed to the nearest Apple store to purchase my MacBook. I wish I could go back in time and tell that person a year ago... to stay away.

    68 of 81 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Battery much worse for Macbook than Powerbook

    • Written by from Westport

    My powerbook battery lasted a long time - a long time per charge (4 hours) and a long time in usage - 3 years. The Macbook battery started getting weak after a year, and now it barely can stay on for an hour, even less if I have airport and a DVD playing. I'm very careful with my battery usage - letting it charge, then letting is discharge fully before recharging fully. What's wrong with the technology?!?

    56 of 65 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    BATTERY HORRIBLE-

    • Written by from oceanside

    In less than year battery stopped working unless plugged in. If I wanted to be plugged in all the time I would have bought a desktop. I thought APPLE was supposed to be superior to PC, but in regards to this battery I am VERY disappointed. It is so expensive to replace this battery for less than 1 year of use! THUMBS DOWN!

    136 of 159 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    HASSLE!

    • Written by from Dartmouth

    My battery died in 9 months! I've been to 2 stores in boston and one in providence and they haven't had them in stock. If they die so quickly they need to at least carry them in the store at all the time. Horrible service

    38 of 49 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Stopped working suddenly after 14 months

    • Written by from Olympia

    Worked great for over the 1 year warranty. I left the computer ac charger unplugged for five days, when I plugged it in, the battery would no longer hold a charge. This does not seem like apple quality.

    23 of 30 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    bad apple product

    • Written by from parker

    my laptop cant even stay charged for 30 minutes after two years of having it I'd rather stay with the charger than to rely on this product that really does not have that good of a charge i mean can't apple come up with something better to keep our laptops charged

    39 of 48 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    disappointed in Apple

    • Written by from Ottawa

    After 14 months of use with 300 charging cycles (letting battery drain before recharging), my battery now offers just over 40 minutes when fully charged. Given all of the ongoing complaints about MacBook batteries, it is disappointing that Apple hasn't invested in making significant improvements. I was persuaded to switch to Mac from PC notebooks as a result of sophisticated advertising and design. Perhaps Apple should invest some of these resources into producing a better battery. Not sure I will buy a MacBook again (due to battery) as much as I want to love it!

    42 of 48 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    so dificult!!!

    • Written by

    mine last for lass than a year and not even a havy user. the support said for me to check the cicles of charge and mine was not even at 200. 300 cicles is what they said would be the expected for the batery to last. the problem is i found a lot of other users with the same problem as mine.
    and for me is little worst i guess, becouse i'm in brazil. i got my macbook when i was at the USA and know besides the high prize of the new batery (130!) they wont ship it to me here.

    21 of 23 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Very disappointed.

    • Written by from edmonton

    I have purchased only Mac computers since 1988 and never even considered a PC. For years, I have also always stronly recommended the purchase of a Mac over a PC to friends and family. This battery problem is so annoying and frustrating that I can longer make this recommendation and I myself will consider other options for my next purchase.

    19 of 22 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Poor Quality

    • Written by from Kremmling

    The MacBook batteries are poor. After less than one year of use, they report incorrect charges and your MacBook will shut down suddenly as a result. Apple really needs to step up QC on a few products, this is one of them.

    33 of 36 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    The worst battery i've ever seen

    • Written by from ---

    I bought my macbook 2 years ago, and the battery worked for just 1 year... then it suddenly started to indicate wrong information about the power left in the device and the computer now shuts down without any advice. I used to perform the battery calibration frequently, but once it went wrong and goodbye battery...

    And even when it was new, it's working time was 2 hours.. back then, it was the most dissapointing thing in my brand new macbook...

    And now what are my chances? To buy a new one for US$200 (the market price of the battery in my country), and buy one periodically every year...

    32 of 33 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Macbook battery == EVIL

    • Written by from Rutland

    After < a year of use, the battery can only hold a charge for a half an hour at MOST. Seriously disappointing... especially because the replacements are $130....

    24 of 26 people found this useful

  • 1.0 out of 5 stars

    Disappointing that Apple won't fix it

    • Written by from milton

    disappointing - - I would expect better from Mac. I have had my MacBook for two years and now get less than one hour battery time. This is a serious problem that will probably cost Mac many millions of dollars in lost revenue. Maybe they decided the fix would have cost more. I don't want to be cynical about Apple yet, but this is a serious problem that they seem to be ignoring.


    20 of 27 people found this useful