Let's say i backed up 250 gb worth of data on my Time Capsule, if i delete everything from my hard-drive can i still access all that's backed up?

What i want to do is buy a 2TB Time Capsule, and use that to back-up everything on my 250gb external hard-drive and 200gb hard-drive on my macbook pro. Now if i back all that data up and delete everything on both disks to free up space... will i be able to access the data stored on the Time Capsule? And if so will i be able to move single files or will i have to import ALL the backed-up data back into its disk of origin? Does this make sense?

  • Asked by Antoine L from Sydney
  • May 4, 2010
QA Apple Time Capsule

QA Apple Time Capsule

Product No Longer Available

2 Answers from the Community

  • Best Answer:

    Yes, you will be able to mount the Time Capsule drive. You can access everything from the Time Capsule just like it was on your Macbook.

    • Answered by Dan K from Plano
    • May 5, 2010
  • Time Machine will, sooner or later, DELETE the backup copies of anything that's no longer on the disks being backed-up.

    • Answered by James P from Clermont
    • Nov 29, 2010