I have OS X 10.5.8, also Windows Vista running under Bootcamp.  If I upgrade to 10.6, what happens to Bootcamp and the Windows files?

Bootcamp when upgrading to 10.6

Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard

Back To Product

Follow this Question

1 Answer from the Community

  • Best Answer:

    With personal experience, the easy upgrade (not clean install) retains all partitions, applications, personal files and preferences, including your Bootcamp partition. After upgrading, you won't notice any change until you start using some of your applications which are radically faster, the first I noticed was Safari.

    In short: Your Windows partition will remain unchanged, this also goes for any virtual machines, even those saved in your personal folder.

    Also worth to notice: If your bootcamp partition is formated with NTFS, it's untouchable by the Mac OS unless you re-format your whole drive.

    Was this useful? Answer 1

    6 of 7 people found this useful

Related Questions